EP Review: ‘Smile You Son Of A Bitch’ Bearfist

Looking for something to shake off the cobwebs from Christmas and new year? Bearfist’s newly released ‘Smile You Son Of A Bitch’ EP is going to bring you back to earth with a bang.

The Chelmsford four-piece have already built a steady following from their two previous EPs and appearances at Bloodstock Festival 2016, HRH Metal 2017 and Hammerfest 2018. Now in 2019 they’ve unleashed 4 new tracks and announced that they will be appearing at the coveted Mosh Against Cancer Festival in Coventry alongside Ramage Inc, Mortishead and more.

‘Death’s Emissary’ is the first track on the new EP. Atmospheric synths open to a neck wrenching drum beat followed by Rob’s instantly recognisable growl. As the track opens up there’s plenty of groove to get a mosh pit stomping.

If you haven’t already heard ‘Destroy the Magnet’ on Total Rock or the Global Onslaught show for Midlands Metalheads then you’re in for a treat. The second track on the EP was shared exclusively on Total Rock Radio at the end of 2018. The video was produced by well known Midlands videographer Loki Films .  This little taster had the music press and fans salivating for more!

‘I’m Your God’ is the third track on the EP and this is the one that I can’t get enough off.  Jon’s pulsing bass riff gets  deep under your skin as Dan’s tempo ratchets ups a notch. Something about the mix  from Justin Hill on these two instruments just holds my attention from start to finish.

Final track ‘Bleed The Wrong Way’ has a the kind of catchy vocal hook that will instantly appeal to a live audiences. Moshville Times review of M2TM 2018 described Bearfist’s live performance as ‘relentless’, and this is the kind of track that will get gig goers away from the bar and onto their feet.

With ‘Smile You Son Of A Bitch’ Bearfist have set the bar very high for new releases in 2019.

Produced mixed and mastered by Justin Hill (ex Sikthvocalist)
Cover photos taken by Loki Films
CD design by Jon Holland.
Distribution by CD Baby

Track listing:
Death’s Emissary / Destroy The Magnet /
I’m Your God / Bleed The Wrong Way

Band Members
Rob Murray – Vocal
Dan Moss – Guitar
Jon Holland – Bass guitar
Alex Baker – Drums

Follow / contact:

Review. Pete Live